Elegy for the 3DS and Wii U (mostly for the 3DS)

So, the 3DS and Wii U shops are dead for good now.

I wish I had some sort of heartwarming story about my connection with these two platforms, but I don't.

Well, okay, I do have a story about the 3DS, but it's not particularly heartwarming (at least to me).

I remember I was about twelve or so years old. I was big time obsessed with Ace Attorney games back then, but I couldn't play them because I didn't have either the DS or 3DS. After considerable amount of begging from me, my dad installed DeSmuME and Citra emulators onto my computer.

After I finished playing the first three games (which involved a bit of tweaking to make DeSmuME run at acceptable speeds) I downloaded Scribblenauts Unlimited from some shady ROM site and spend an entire week playing it on Citra. I remember loving it back then, and I still have a great deal of childhood nostalgia about the game.

(And if you're wondering, no, I didn't get around to playing the other Ace Attorney games ¯\_(ツ)_/¯)

As of the Wii U... Well, I'm currently inching my way through Star Fox Zero; does that count?

I don't have much else to say, sorry.

Go back